Henry Davison Award-winners recognized for commitment

تم النشر: 20 نوفمبر 2013 10:21 CET

The Henry Davison Award is given to outstanding individuals or National Societies at every General Assembly of the International Federation of Red Cross and Red Crescent Societies (IFRC). This year it was awarded to five people who have been instrumental in the response to some of the most challenging emergencies of recent decades – including the Ethiopian famine of the 1980’s and the Asian Tsunami of 2004.

The first recipient, Dr Mohammed Al-Hadid, President of the Jordan National Red Crescent Society, was awarded for the outstanding work he has carried out in promoting peace and stability in the Middle East region.

Dr Dawit Zawde, former President of the Ethiopian Red Cross Society, was awarded for his significant work in responding to the Ethiopian famine and – in the face of that challenge – building a strong and well respected National Society that endures to this day.

Former Secretary General of the IFRC and of The Canadian Red Cross Society George Weber received the award for his long-standing commitment and contribution to strengthening National Societies and the Movement as a whole.

Phan Wannamethee, Secretary General of the Thai Red Cross Society was recognized for his devotion to the International Red Cross and Red Crescent Movement and his contribution to alleviate the suffering of so many through his actions.

And finally, Dr Wolfgang Kopetzky, Special envoy of the President of the Austrian Red Cross was awarded the Henry Davison Award for promoting the ideals of the Movement and for his international work in Austria and beyond.