المدير الإقليمي للشرق الأوسط وشمال إفريقيا

يشرف المدير الإقليمي للشرق الأوسط وشمال إفريقيا (MENA) على جميع مساعدات الإتحاد الدولي، ويقدّم المشورة إلى الجمعيات الوطنية في منطقة الشرق الأوسط وشمال إفريقيا، مما يضمن إدارة فعّالة لمخاطر الكوارث والأزمات، ويشجّع التعاون الإقليمي بين الأعضاء.

حسام الشرقاوي

  • IFRC MENA Regional Office
    Beirut, Hazmiyeh
    Mount Lebanon Governorate, Lebanon

يتمتّع الدكتور حسام الشرقاوي بخبرة تزيد عن 30 عامًا في القطاع الإنساني. تضمّنت حياته المهنية تعيينه في أكثر من 35 دولة، حيث جمع بين أدوار تطوعية ومهنية في الحركة الدولية للصليب الأحمر والهلال الأحمر.

شغل حسام سابقًا منصب نائب رئيس الصحة في حالات الطوارئ والتعلّم والإبتكار في الصليب الأحمر الكندي، حيث قاد التحضير والإستجابة لحالات الطوارئ الإنسانية المُعقدة. كما عمل سابقًا مع منظمة الصحة العالمية (WHO) في تطوير إرشادات للفرق الطبية التي تستجيب لحالات الطوارئ الصحية في النزاعات المسلّحة والبيئات غير الآمنة.

إلى جانب دوره في الإتحاد الدولي، يعمل حسام أستاذًا مساعدًا في جامعة كولومبيا البريطانية، وعضو زائر في هيئة التدريس في جامعتي ماكجيل وماكماستر، حيث يُدرّس الإستجابة للكوارث والرعاية الصحية في الأزمات الإنسانية المُعقدة.

Regional Director for MENA

The Regional Director for Middle East and North Africa (MENA) oversees all IFRC assistance and advice to National Societies in the MENA region, ensuring effective disaster and crisis risk management and encouraging regional cooperation between members.

Hossam Elsharkawi

  • IFRC MENA Regional Office
    Beirut, Hazmiyeh
    Mount Lebanon Governorate, Lebanon

Dr Hossam Elsharkawi has over 30 years’ experience in the humanitarian sector. His career has included assignments in more than 35 countries, comprising volunteer and professional roles across the International Red Cross and Red Crescent Movement.

Hossam was formerly Vice President of Health in Emergencies, Learning and Innovation at the Canadian Red Cross, where he led the preparedness and response for complex humanitarian emergencies. He has also previously worked with the World Health Organization (WHO) to develop guidance for medical teams responding to health emergencies in armed conflict and insecure environments.

Alongside his role at the IFRC, Hossam is an Adjunct Professor at the University of British Columbia and guest faculty at McGill and McMaster Universities where he teaches disaster response and health care in complex humanitarian crises.