The International Red Cross and Red Crescent Movement

The International Red Cross and Red Crescent Movement is made up of three independent parts. It is guided by the Fundamental Principles and united by a central purpose: to help without discrimination those who suffer and thus contribute to peace in the world.

The three parts of our Movement


The International Committee of the Red Cross (ICRC)


The International Federation of Red Cross and Red Crescent Societies (IFRC)

National Societies icon

National Societies

Working together

Movement partners work closely together to discuss common issues and share best practice through daily collaboration and Statutory Meetings.

Every four years, the Movement holds talks with representatives of the states party to the Geneva Conventions at the International Conference of the Red Cross and Red Crescent. The conference is the Movement’s highest deliberative body and influences the global humanitarian agenda. It is supported by a Standing Commission which serves as the trustee and offers guidance to the Movement between meetings.

Every two years, the Movement also convenes the Council of Delegates to adopt resolutions on Movement action and advocacy.